Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / The Outer Sphere
The Outer Sphere
The Outer Sphere
393.6k Views 4342 Favorites 188 Chapters 1 Chapters/Week 1256 Readers
4.2 (113 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

Garth Daniels is a down on his luck handyman in a quiet little town in the middle of America when our universe is co-opted into a war between an unstoppable race of reality-hopping monsters that feeds on the flesh of living creatures, and a conglomeration of thousands of realities, nested inside each other like a matroska doll.

We're the new layer.

These monsters, the Kipling, can only be defeated in a reality with very specific physics, otherwise they are unstoppable, and so Earth's universe has been assimilated to give us a fighting chance.

Garth must set aside everything that he knows, and think fast to adapt to the new laws of nature if he wants to survive.
Cover by Asera, a cool, helpful dude, who doesn't get enough props. Go check him out!
https://www.patreon.com/asera

Genre
ActionAdultEcchiFantasyLitRPGMatureSci-fiSeinen
Tags
Adventurers Apocalypse Army Building Average-looking Protagonist Brainwashing Calm Protagonist Clever Protagonist Crazy Protagonist Demi-Humans Doting Love Interests Drugs Dungeons Earth Invasion Eidetic Memory Fantasy Creatures Goddesses Kind Love Interests Magic Paizuri Perverted Protagonist Post-apocalyptic Succubus Summoning Magic Weak to Strong
Show
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 56% (5)
    • 4 stars 11% (1)
    • 3 stars 11% (1)
    • 2 stars 22% (2)
    • 1 stars 0% (0)
    Reset Filters
      hawlol
      Status: c104
      Aug 26, 2019

      Be warned: This story has a very disapointing arc conclusion at chapter 100 that will divide the readers. 

      I'm just writing this because I'd like to have been warned by a review and not wasted my time with the novel, but there wasn't one with this warning yet. I'll try not to spoil, but wrap it in spoiler warning nonetheless:

      Spoiler

      There will be a build up of 100 chapters of the MC's plans to save the Earth by rebuilding a city and protect humans from the inner circle civilizations, but everything will have an abrupt and unfufilling end, while the story will pick up 800 years in the future, as if resetted. All previous characters gone, everything the MC had accomplished, thrown out of the windows in a single chapter.

      [collapse]

      The story was faulty but entertaining up to chap 100, yet the arc ending was Game of Thrones S8 level of bad. You've been warned. 

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      Westeller
      Status: 136: laser spiders
      Jul 5, 2019

      A wild and unpredictable ride, and I've loved every minute of it.

      I would really like to give a constructive and well-considered review, but, honestly, I'm just not great at writing that kind of thing.... If I had to nitpick flaws, I would say that there were two or three immersion-breaking typos in the hundred and thirty-six chapters I've read so far -- a number, I think, that expresses how well written this novel is. I would also say that I'm a bit concerned about the statistics, which no author ever does truly well, and relative levels of power between characters and the broader world. These things can be hand-waived to some degree, however, and aren't vital to the story.

      Pretense at constructive reviewing aside, what I would truly like to say is that I have been thoroughly enjoying this novel. The humor, the characters, the world-building. Every part of it so far has been an adventure that continues to surprise me and make me laugh. I've read a fair number of stories that fall under the litrpg umbrella, and this has really stood out to me as something special. I highly recommend it.

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      soneka
      Status: c119
      Nov 20, 2019
      I didn't read any reviews before I started reading this story and that was my mistake.
      .
      Like other people have mentioned the story starts amazing, I really liked so many of the concepts in this story and the world building is really wonderful. The MC specially is very charismatic his personality is very amusing, and I'd say it's one the best aspects of the story.
      .
      If I had to point out something I didn't like would be that maybe there was too much tension, too many fights where everything seemed at stake where the MC would end up half dead most of the time (when this happens once or twice it's cool, but if it's too much in a short period of time then it becomes tiring).
      .
      But then chapter 100 happened...
      .
      This was like watching someone build up a castle of cards for two hours, and when the thing is already 5 ft tall the person building it says "You know what? Let's start over. Hang with me for another couple of hours and we will go way past 5 ft.
      .
      Little spoilers bellow
      Spoiler
      Something happen and there's basically a reset. All the development is pretty much discarded, the MC goes back to being weak, and the story continues with only him and none of the other characters.
      .
      Now, there are some people saying that this can be undone because there's time travel in this story. Supposedly the MC will get stronger with these other characters and will go back in time where the story will resume but better (perhaps), but the way I see it what comes next is some sort of filler (which lasts for at least 20 chapters, but I assume it's much more than that.)
      .
      If this development after ch 100 is just a temporary filler, if the MC will go back in time just to proceed from there after as people have speculated then you would need to read this story knowing that one way or another some characters/developments could end up being discarded (if he goes back that version of the future probably wouldn't exist after all).
      .
      I could be wrong, but after thinking about that I couldn't read more than 20 chapters past that point

      [collapse]
      I mean, if you really are interested in this story, then go ahead, it isn't bad at all, or else I wouldn't have given it 3 stars. But maybe it's better to go in without getting to invested. Treat this story as a lover that might or might not break your heart.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      OllieZ
      Status: c140
      Nov 1, 2019

      *sigh* I thought everyone was being overdramatic about post-chapter100 being horrible. But they weren't.

      The novel went from light fast-paced to political slow-paced. I don't mind the reset, but the world-building is taking too long.

      I don't really know if the MC is acting retard or if he really is retarded. The only thing I'm certain is that the novel is stressing me out with all the mistakes the MC makes.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      narcoleptopus
      Status: chapter 162 : it's got electrolytes
      Sep 23, 2019

      A refreshing departure from the conventions of modern fantasy, somewhat reminiscent of works like Xanth and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, as well as RE:Monster. The shared experiences of the 21st century establish a relatable setting and cast – which the author promptly subjects to all manner of fantastical dystopian circumstances and inter-species culture shock.

      The Outer Sphere checks all the boxes. Western Fantasy? Check. Wuxia-sized world-building? Check. Aliens? Check. Drama, mysteries, comedy, romance, epic battles, and genuine tragedy? Yep. Complete with System mechanics, artificing/magitech, innovation, civ-building, moral dilemmas, politics, alien s*x... You name it, it's in here somewhere. All delivered brilliantly. 👌

      ====

      My only criticism would be that so far depictions of cultures and interpersonal relations have been a bit.. flat. The scope of diversity just isn't quite what I would expect of a vast interconnected universe. But then, it could certainly be worse. Stick to what you know, I s'pose.

      Cheers, and keep up the good work~!

      -A

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      TH34TH1
      Status: c161
      Sep 12, 2019

      its amazing, like that in itself is not enough to describe how amazing this book is to me. I binged this entire thing in one sitting and spent most of my f**king day reading it, and it was a great day. If there were more books like this that made reading genuinely fun again and not something to pass the time at this point I would be content with life. The Characters, world building, plot, drugs, and the genuine happiness I felt for Brian made me laugh far more than I probably should have gave me a sense of fulfillment. Overall it's a 10/10 great read that makes me want to worship this author

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      ChickenSoup
      Status: chapter 134: old acquaintances
      Jun 24, 2019

      The story is great, the cast is great, the world building is also pretty great. One of the better stories here for sure.

      Spoiler

      For me, the series is great until the time skip reboot. So many loose ends in the story before the reboot makes me not a fan of the the reboot. Not to mention that the series just dumps all the character building and bonds with the reboot, making it hard for the reader since the characters they bonded with are just gone other than MC. I mean, sure the story will probably go back to the original timeline but who knows how long it will take. It's just weird I guess.

      [collapse]

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      dawndaze
      Status: c41
      Jun 11, 2019

      This story is genuinely amazing, The main character is hilarious and getting smarter and funnier every chapter.

      There has already been hints at the huge world that is to come and I look forward to catching up over the coming days.

      Thanks Macronomicon for the awesome story and the entertainment

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      rust
      Status: chapter 169: something hardass this way comes
      Nov 4, 2019

      hello everyone.

      this is first time I write a review. so take it easy on me.

      the comment of readers can be devastating most of the time.

      not that  their wrong. but you have to compromise somewhere. like this story is nice. it's not repetitive... doesn't praise MC for being beautiful, handsome, smart and whatnot in every chapter. he's not going to on genocide on every sect cause every sect happen to have stupid young master to see the MC women... and this and that...!

      yes... it was bad when the world building suddenly changed everyone died. I shouted like : F***********ck!... but it's still nice to read... it's not boring. the writer put effort in it.

      i don't know much about a good story's qualities . just speak my feelings.

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      X
      Write a Review
      You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Follow Tip
      Similar Series
      Diverge Summoning
      By Sleeplessbanter
      Shango was just a regular 24 year old, getting by in life by doing numerous odd jobs. One day, he was summoned to an unknown world and found himself surrounded by people pointing swords at him, staring, as if they had never seen a black man before
      World Creator App
      By HeartPiercingSpear
      Our MC is a common University student, persuing his batchelor’s. One day he installs a new app on his phone. It’s discription read “Create your own world, create & explore various mistries, all to your he
      The 1.000 year Great Sage –> COMPLETED STORY
      By krushandkill
      History says that each 1.000 years, a Great Sage is born. One that can control amazing amounts of Magic. And in this world with so many different races, that Great Sage will defend, rule or help one of those races to advance and evolve faste
      Battlefield Restart
      By Love4NovelGuy
      After retiring from the battlefield, my life became empty and lifeless. The regrets of my past haunt me in my sleep. Then a change occurred, a King from another world summoned me to fight for his kingdom, but I died even before I could give him my
      Magician Endeavour
      By Vertrex
      In a world that is coming to an end by the hands of destruction, one surviving magician remained. He, who is an old mage that had lived a very long time, entered into battle against the forces of evil in order to stop their destruction of his worl
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.