Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Random Series
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / A Budding Scientist in a Fantasy World
A Budding Scientist in a Fantasy World
A Budding Scientist in a Fantasy World
461.1k Views 10590 Favorites 112 Chapters 2 Chapters/Week 2796 Readers
4.7 (321 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

Alice is a girl who loves science and lives on Earth. Then, suddenly, she was punted into another dimension. A dimension where magic and monsters roam the land, and, for some reason, a System keeps dinging at her and telling her that her stats and levels are increasing. As someone who loves exploring mysteries, Alice is determined to get to the bottom of this mystery. After all, everything has to have a ‘cause,’ including the System, right?

(This story is also posted on Royalroad. If you see this story anywhere besides Royalroad, Scribblehub, Amazon, or Patreon it has been stolen).

What to expect: This story is going to be a LitRPG set in a fantasy world. However, unlike many LitRPG’s, the system has both a definite beginning and definite limits to what it is able to accomplish – rather than a singularly omnipotent, omniscient being that is tied to the laws of the world, the way systems are usually presented in LitRPG’s, the system is close to both, but has definite limits and rules which it operates by.

Note: the rest of volume 1 has been taken down, due to the requirements for the KU program. You can buy the e-book for volume 1 of Budding Scientist using the link below.

https://www.amazon.com/Small-Town-Southern-Illvaria-Scientist-ebook/dp/B0CFW34H98

Or an audiobook link here:

https://www.audible.com/pd/A-Small-Town-in-Southern-Illvaria-An-Isekai-LitRPG-Audiobook/B0CFRK9ZK7?qid=1692201343&sr=1-1&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_1_1&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=JJ1BXHB9NTSPP5FPNYXF&pageLoadId=AsHXZmcAq15OGzRW&creativeId=0d6f6720-f41c-457e-a42b-8c8dceb62f2c

Uploads 1 chapter a week

Join my Discord!
https://discord.gg/5f5EAtSzy7

Genre
ActionAdventureComedyFantasyIsekaiLitRPGMystery
Tags
Alternate World Bookworm Clever Protagonist Comedic Undertone Fantasy World Female Protagonist Game Elements Genius Protagonist Grinding Kingdoms Level System Magic Medieval Modern Knowledge Naive Protagonist RPG Transported into a Game World Transported into Another World Weak to Strong
Table of Contents 112
Show
  1. Chapter 15619 hours ago
  2. Chapter 155Feb 24, 2024
  3. Chapter 154Feb 17, 2024
  4. Chapter 153Feb 10, 2024
  5. Chapter 152Feb 3, 2024
  6. Chapter 151Jan 27, 2024
  7. Chapter 150Jan 20, 2024
  8. Chapter 149Jan 13, 2024
  9. Chapter 148Dec 23, 2023
  10. Chapter 147Dec 16, 2023
  11. Chapter 146Dec 9, 2023
  12. Chapter 145Dec 2, 2023
  13. Final Thumb update (Hopefully).Dec 1, 2023
  14. Thumb UpdateNov 27, 2023
  15. Chapter 144Nov 25, 2023
    Reviews 11
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 73% (8)
    • 4 stars 27% (3)
    • 3 stars 0% (0)
    • 2 stars 0% (0)
    • 1 stars 0% (0)
    Reset Filters
    Write a Review
    You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Pimgd
      Status: chapter 23

      Aspiring Rationalist Isekai.

      If you've read rationalist fiction before (and liked it) then you're in for a treat.

      I especially like how the protagonist is genuinely intelligent; not Sherlock Holmes style where they have the ability to pluck facts from thin air but genuinely intelligent, the kind where you try your hardest to think your way through (and actually think, not just mentally ramble). Writing intelligent characters is hard, but this novel pulls it off, at the very least for the protagonist.

      Read More

      13 Likes · Like
      drakensji
      Status: c29

      Fascinating dive into studying a world of magic with a system. An intelligent and logical main character, who still makes mistakes. 

      And probably the first time where the "medieval" world wasn't actually that far behind in terms of knowledge to the modern world 

      Read More

      6 Likes · Like
      melchi
      Status: chapter 97

      So made it to chapter 97 which means I like this one enough not to drop it.  Lets start with the good.  The #1 strength of this story is the world building.  Like others have said, magic, the system and human society are closely linked.  The author explores this quite well.

      The bad:  The story is really a slog at parts.  The alone in the woods first arc is the worst example of this.  Someone could read the first chapter and then skim the next ten and not miss much.  

      Fights: for some reason I really don't like how fights are done in this novel.  They come across as confusing and have a inconsistent pacing.  Some things are overexplained while at times after reading a bit I find myself wondering how things got here.  Or I read something and think how is this happening?  How stats, perks, and magic is a bit wishy washy.  Can a person take a hit with a kinetic projectile from a character with X stats?  How many direct hits can so and so take.  There are no hit points or something like that so things are a bit weird.  There are quite a bit of people that get one-shot but if someone can be one-shot or not is unclear as a reader.  Can anyone be oneshot?  Is this a world filled with glass cannons?  Unclear

       Also, character sheet bloat is a problem.  Alice ends up with a huge character sheet as the story progresses.  Many of the abilities barely ever get used.  Why even award them if they are only going to be there for one page?  The result tends to be bogging down the story with barely relevant stuff at times.  

      The biggest problem I would say is the old "Show, don't tell" saying.  Alice spends way too much time in her own headspace.  I get that she is a scientist and testing hypothesis, thinking of experiments is important. But the delivery is not very enjoyable.  Suggestion: stop, (or at least cut back) with whole paragraphs of just Alice thinking to herself.  If she would just voice her ideas to her friends it would be better IMO.  Reading dialogue is easier than mental musing and can get the same message across.  

      Read More

      4 Likes · Like
      Krit
      Status: c89

      This story maybe little too slow for people who like fast pace story but after around 20 chaps the story become more and more fun it just feel like we are experimenting and discovering the system with the protaganist.

      Read More

      4 Likes · Like
      nullspice
      Status: chapter 86

      This is the first litrpg I've read where I felt the litrpg aspect was integral to the story, rather than being some way of making writing progression easier. I've long wondered about whether I dislike litrpg as a genre-tag, but this story proved that notion false. There are a lot of good litrpgs out there that are good, without really owing much of their quality to their litrpg aspects, instead to their character dynamics. This story, however, has the concept as a core. Quite frankly, if you like litrpg progression, this story will probably be up your alley. The thing you might find off-putting is the fairly consistent perspective switches. Some of them have intrigue, but there are a lot where I wasn't particularly invested in the random new characters being introduced by the switch.

      Overall, for people who enjoy stories about mana, this is a gem.

      Read More

      4 Likes · Like
      Afewconcepts65
      Status: chapter 73

      I feel like this story is a sort of critique of the iseaki genre, or at least certain aspects of iseaki. Iseaki has a tendency to imply that the protagonist's old world is superior to the fantasy one. Sure the protagonist's old life tends to be bland or terrible, but when they're sent to the alternate world their knowledge from their old world tends to set them above the residents of the fantasy one. They can decimate large armies and swarms of monsters with their recreated guns or abuse their knowledge of physics with magic. They recreate conveniences of our modern world in a very technologically struggling world and get praised for it. 

      This story takes this idea of bringing over knowledge of our world to dominate on its head. It says that thinking your high-school physics puts you above everyone else in this alternate world is the peak of arrogance. From what we've seen so far this new world works completely differently. Its alien and weird to us. The people have a completely different perspective. To really sell how out of her depth the protagonist is, the story starts off as a wilderness survival story like hatchet. It's a really unique take on the genre.

      This kind of story basically lives and dies on its world building and so far I think its been doing a great job. The world almost entirely revolves around the system and mana. The monsters have been pretty unique, although we've only seen a few and the magic is very interesting and unique. All these things have obscured rules that pique the readers' interest and make one want to continue reading to learn more.

      Overall I'd highly recommend at least giving this story a try, however I have a few warnings. The story spends a lot of its time in the protagonist's head. Personally I really like this (in this story at least) because the whole point of the story is to try and understand the world, but others may find it boring or feel not a lot is happening each chapter. Also the protagonist's actions can sometimes feel frustrating this is a bit of a spoiler but an example is...

      Spoiler

      there is a point when leveling up where you litterally become immortal. At one point the protagonist meets an immortal and when talking to them doesn't even think to try and ask them if they might be willing to participate in an experiment or to. Like they're doing experiments on what happens when residents enter a place with no mana and you don't even consider what would happen if a being made completely of mana went into the room?

      [collapse]

      Otherwise very good story

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like
      SolitaireGothLich
      Status: capítulo 67

      EPIC

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like
      darkpikacha
      Status: chapter 58

      Rating - Overall a great readThe pacing of Alice is nice and comfortable. Something I do like about it. She is completely logical and uses fair reasoning when making her decisions.  Which is part of the charm of the novel. Also the story feels very concrete and sturdy. All of the characters feel logical and self aware of Alice as well. 

      Spoiler

      I really do like how Alice questions the system itself and gets rewarded for it. I rarely see that in other Litrpgs.   

      [collapse]

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like
      cmrdpm
      Status: chapter 148

      This work is delightful. The prose is solid, the characters are compelling, the pacing kept me up late at night, and the focus of the story helped me get a more complete picture of what I like in a litRPG. Specifically, I really appreciate it when an author goes through the trouble to really think about the implications of something like a System (the focus this work places on the preconditions necessary for something like that to arise is a bonus). Like, when a level 50 fisherman can catch enough fish to feed a village, what implications does that have for the economic conditions of the world at large?  Especially where the story is at as I write this review,  this work has a heavy focus on that kind of question, and I truly love to see it.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like
      Ricicl
      Status: notice: a discussion about ku...

      I think this is a great go at a system story. I like the 'part' where Alice takes a more scientific approach to things, and like how she at least partially knows her actions can cause lots of attention, not all of which would be good.

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like
      Follow Tip
      User Stats
      • 2078 reading
      • 444 plan to read
      • 45 completed
      • 108 paused
      • 121 dropped
      Similar Series
      The Harvester
      By AhraManyu
      Rakna was not normal. No, unmistakably not. Whether it was his appearance, his personality, his abilities, his identity, nothing about him had ever been banal. Was it his choice? No. He was merely but a tormented soul doing its utmost to live the
      A Lonely Dungeon
      By cathfach
      When a new dungeon is born, it wants nothing more than to have the most vicious monsters, the most cunning traps and the most shiny of loot. There is only one problem, but it’s a rather big one; it finished its first floor years ago, but it
      I’ve Been Reincarnated as a Bunny Girl?!
      By EliteShade
      What happens when a 40-something office drone dies and gets reincarnated as an anthropomorphic bunny girl? Isekai-Comedy Gold! Follow the story of Kiana (formerly known as Aiden) as she explored her new world of magic and adventure and hones her n
      I’m Just an Ordinary Mage, Not a Villainess.
      By DearanWan
      The ugly daughter of the prestigious noble family, the Bellux, Eira had heard the “whisper” of everyone’s vicious thoughts in her whole life. Being unable to trust anyone, her only ally was her family. She didn’t want to hu
      Magical Marvel (HP X MCU)
      By athass_prkr
      [A SI Harry Potter and Marvel (MCU) Xover Fanfiction] ————————————————————— A sick 16 year old MC dies at t
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.