Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / Trouble With Horns
Trouble With Horns
Trouble With Horns
562.3k Views 12461 Favorites 67 Chapters 2 Chapters/Week 2699 Readers
4.8 (444 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

More than a hundred years into the future and the world has been through hell and back, not that ancient history matters to Terry as his girlfriend of three years dumps him in the middle of a park. As a way to distract him, his twin sister convinces him to dive into the newest fantasy VRMMO with her. Reluctantly agreeing, neither of them could have known the adventure of self discovery Terry would find himself plunged into.

A mishap in character creation leaves him stranded far from his sister, with a randomly generated character and plethora of problems. The first problem, of course, is the fact that he appears to be a demon girl, and the second? A gorgeous redhead with her sword at his throat.

Genre
ActionAdventureDramaGender BenderGirls LoveLitRPGMatureRomanceSci-fi
Tags
Alchemy Appearance Changes Beautiful Female Lead Character Growth Clingy Lover Conspiracies Doting Parents Empires Futuristic Setting Game Elements Gamers Hiding True Identity Jobless Class Love Triangles Male to Female MMORPG Nobles Online Romance R-18 Secret Organizations Secrets Tomboyish Female Lead Transgender Twins
Related Series
Witch of Chains (Shared Universe)
Show
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 94% (16)
    • 4 stars 0% (0)
    • 3 stars 0% (0)
    • 2 stars 6% (1)
    • 1 stars 0% (0)
    Reset Filters
      Siska
      Status: 40: chat
      Feb 3, 2020

      Do you ever just see a synopsis and think, "I don't think I'll like this, but I'll give it a shot." That seems to happen quite frequently with me, and oddly enough, it's these novels that I enjoy the most, the ones that push me just far enough out of my current comfort zone that it's new, without being completely alien. 

      I've read plenty of Gender Bender in my time, but 9/10 times, it's for comedy, and only 1 of 10 is it a serious disection of gender and the protagonist. This was my first time reading a Transgender novel, and I must say, I was enlightened about many things. 

      Is the story perfect, no, and some of the IRL conflicts will require, well, a lot of suspension of disbelief, but other than that, it's a cute romance, fun comedy, over the top action novel, plus some lewd parts, kinda the perfect combo. 

      I'm personally not particularly progressive, so I'd understand if you are held up about reading this because it's about a trans main character. Truthfully, I was too at first, but I think it's good enough in every category that's tagged, that even if you have some particular feelings about transgender people, I think it's still worth a read. 

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      Lexi
      Status: 41: the healer
      Jan 11, 2020

      What can I say, except... WOW!

      I love Valerie's writing that has a tendency of pulling me right in. And her stories - especially Trouble with Horns - feel so much more real to me in regards of the transgender experience than any book I have read when I was adolescent and still doubting the validity of myself.

      Not going to lie: the first big part of TwT is not easy to read. It pushed me right back into the dysphoric episodes I had eight years ago, when I decided that I had suffered enough and finally began my journey. But the story made more than up for it when it starts showing how euphoric a normal life can feel, once one transitions to their true self. Be ready to cramp up in suffering and cry tears of joy, along with rollercoasting through all the emotions in between.

      There aren't many stories out there that allow me - aside from participating in the adventures - let me identify with the lead character in an intensity how TwT does it. If any at all.

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      lurkingstill
      Status: 59: newly physical
      Jan 6, 2021

      Wow, I stumbled across this and was loving the light fun read. Enter the teens, I don't think I have ever read a more true and painful account that ends so beautifully as we pass beyond the teens. 

      This story is amazing and if it has a fault it is that there is not more of it. Val is a truly gifted storyteller and I feel she should be heralded as a great of worldbuilding.

      It amazed me how real this world felt, the troubles, the solutions, things all felt plausible with in, I am envious of Tami and hope her continued escapades will further delight us.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      pynkbites
      Status: 59: newly physical
      Nov 28, 2020

      Y'all ever get that awkward question, "Hey, how come you always play as a girl in videogames?" and struggle to answer it without delving deep into your painful genderfeels? Well, that's the central premise of this story, and it's brilliantly done.

      If you could live your true gender in a total-immersion VR simulator for a week, what would it make you feel? F**k around and find out, friends. This story's a winner.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      Kofi611
      Status: 21: hot bath
      Jun 3, 2020

      There are two types of books that I like: books that make me want to find out what happens next, and books that I truly enjoy reading. This is the latter. I can't stop laughing.

      Someone help this author get his work out there because everyone needs to read this.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      evelynpupper
      Status: 50: an open quest
      May 1, 2020

      Very good story, euphoric and gay bits scattered throughout. Thoroughly enjoyed.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      dusk2597
      Status: 48: thunderous impact
      Mar 10, 2020

      I've always loved QuietValerie's stories and how they portray transgender stories with a level of sincerity and genuineness that I had not read before, which lead me to finding other authors and stories that have that quality through her and her fellow authors.

      "Trouble with Horns" is no different! If you've read and enjoyed QuietValerie's other stories, then you'll definitely enjoy this.

      If you haven't, then maybe the cute characters and their adorable awkwardness and the cool/funny shenanigans will convince you.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      DvaDI
      Status: 57: the idiot
      Feb 1, 2021

      The romance is fantastic and the characters are amazing but the action is good however distinctly lacking because Tami is consistently out leveled and outgunned so even though she does really cool attacks that read like somebody splitting the sky in half they end up doing nothing because you can't have a level 30 kill a level 60 in one hit. Also, another problem with the story is that they never ever explain how sh*t works and the f**k is even going on with the game itself (except for that one time we were told 20 power is an average human but that's it) it would be great if Val could explain the ability system and the stats of characters and how they stand in the game. The final grip with the story is that it feels like they are in the 90s despite being hundreds of years in the future, I just find it weird how people in the novel look at LGBTQ people like they are from the f**king Necronomicon, and maybe it's like that in whatever place the author lives but in my corner of the world people like that are f**king criptids.

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      Nivateth
      Status: current
      Aug 27, 2020

      It's fun and goofy sometimes.

      I dunno. The synopsis makes me think I won't like it even though I already know I do.

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      X
      Write a Review
      You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Follow Tip
      Similar Series
      Illegal Alien in a MMO World
      By Trashlyn
      How far would you go to play CORA, latest and greatest addition to ranks of full immersion sword and magic VRMMORPGs? Would you buy black market access codes? Patch yourself into a walled off network? Cross an armed border? Can Jamie manag
      Pellan Rise
      By QuietValerie
      Sam is a quiet 16 year old high school guy. He’s a nerd and a geek. A pretty typical guy. When his friends try to peer pressure him into playing the tank role for the new VR game they all want to play, he rebels, although he can’t quit
      Autumn Wind
      By ginger
      Ethan and Samantha met online in their favorite MMO. Now, they’re meeting in person for their first date, and Ethan is about to learn about Samantha’s work and the app that will change their lives forever.
      Falling Over
      By QuietValerie
      Coby was once again forced to go to a college party by his best friend Brook. He hadn’t been counting on much happening, he was an anxious nerd after all, but waking up in his friend’s bed as a gorgeous girl was pretty damn far out of
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.