Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / Origin Seeker
Origin Seeker
Origin Seeker
445.3k Views 13372 Favorites 217 Chapters 3 Chapters/Week 1364 Readers
4.3 (160 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

The pursuit of knowledge and the pursuit of happiness. That’s all Dream ever wanted. As he grew up though, his naivety vanished and he found that the world was nothing more than a prison that would allow neither of those things. However, after giving himself up to the endless abyss expecting to disappear, he found himself awoken in a new world!

Magic, skills, science, technology, and the secrets of the universe within his reach.

Dream found everything he ever needed and wanted, and alongside a twin pair of magical fox princesses, he would go on to unintentionally dominate the lands with his unprecedented ability to fuse the world of the arcane with the world of science.

Story also posted on Royal Road.
Image artist: Alicexz
Image sauce: https://www.deviantart.com/alicexz/art/The-Turn-of-the-Universe-413896800

Genre
ActionAdventureFantasyHaremIsekaiLitRPGRomanceSci-fi
Tags
Ability Steal Accelerated Growth Alternate World Beautiful Female Lead Calm Protagonist Curious Protagonist Fantasy World Game Elements Gunfighters Handsome Male Lead Human-Nonhuman Relationship Level System Magic Magical Technology Mercenaries Modern Knowledge Reincarnation Skill Assimilation Skill Creation Weak to Strong
Show
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 57% (4)
    • 4 stars 0% (0)
    • 3 stars 0% (0)
    • 2 stars 29% (2)
    • 1 stars 14% (1)
    Reset Filters
      alcelaphinae
      Status: --
      Aug 19, 2020
      Spoiler

      Giving promises like MC is origin seeker, thinker, philosophy geek but he is not actually. everything MC wants happens. very simplistic. there isnt challenge so far. Story keep strengthen MC out of nowhere, it is like a summary "He did this then did that, skill level upped, everything improved including feelings the sisters having for you, and when your skill evolving, god himself came and talked about your and sister's feelings so everything clear" Damn, let be a story at least in romance you know? Let sisters and MC have feelings with living themselfs, expriencing themselfs. If a god came out and says; "you love her, she loves him so... im done here, go make babies." then why would I read this? Its meaningless.

      [collapse]

      Read More

      17 Likes · Like Permalink
      Holder-of-the-metal-bat
      Status: chapter 16 – it’s a classic
      Jul 24, 2020

      This is very cringy to me. MC gets op titles and skills very fast and shows off his Earth knowledge. Characters are very easy going and I wouldn't be surprised if there was some bad harem in there as well. Usually I'm not against harem, but I am when the guy gets the girls too fast just for showing up his powers...

      It feels like the main theme isn't to discover the truth of the universe, but simple wish fulfillment. If this is the kind of story you like, I would say go for it. 

      Note : I haven't read everything, so maybe the tone of the story will evolve later.

      Read More

      8 Likes · Like Permalink
      Centinel
      Status: chapter 62 – separated
      Nov 19, 2020

      So the story started pretty nice and was rather intersting too see the mix between modern and fantasy. The characters were rather intersting even if the less important ones are rather rare to show up. But the story has a majoe nosedive that comes rather out of nowhere that just pulls out every fun of the story.

      Now Spoiler for background of the major characters other than MC.

      Spoiler

      So he meets a family of a father and two daughters at the beginning and gets together with the two daughters who are half  fox. They have a special background and are getting searched by one of the leaders of a whole other continent who is one of the strongest person there. Still nice that nothing is too easy and they have to be carefull. Well then they get detected and the father decides, that MC cant be with them or he will be killed. MCs agrees and they get seperated. And thats it. That is STILL the status quo after 50 chapter and that just sucks. Why even start making connections if they are literally useless now. He has to be one of the strongest people on this f**king planet to save them so that will take a f**k ton of time and just NO you dont do that. Maybe for an arc or something but not for your f**king rest of the adventure on this planet. So just NO that was bad and not good for the story.

      [collapse]

      Read More

      6 Likes · Like Permalink
      mukkaar
      Status: c11
      Jan 16, 2021

      Well, writing is actually ok and if not for how MC got his powers story could also be ok. Now into major issue.

      Having op powers on MC is fine as long as there's somehow plausible reason. But this story goes in absolutely opposite direction. We have MC that is maybe a bit over average in terms of studies, sports and stuff. Then MC kills himself and gets freaking title [Origin Seeker] for that (which includes things like mental control block and 6x xp) + some other totally op skills.

      And all this is somehow supposed to be reward for MC killing himself, I quote the author "<Announcement-- Individual: |Dream| has given the ultimate sacrifice for the pursuit of knowledge.>". He got all this for shooting himself in head >< It's just so cringe and stupid, if anything he should be penalized for giving up his pursuits.

      If MC got those skills and 6x xp just due to roll of dice or something that would be much better reason, while it would also be giving MC stuff for free, at least it makes sense even if it was over the top.

      Now if you made MC some genius that was experimenting on some groundbreaking stuff about creation of universe and experiment exploded on mc's face you could actually justify his title and skills.

      Read More

      5 Likes · Like Permalink
      rac
      Status: chapter 50 – practice
      Aug 21, 2020

      It's a fun read, the MC is running around experimenting with magic and science, a chill story with nice character, blasting "Welcome to the jungle" at full volume in the middle of an isekai forest was a 10/10 move in my book. 

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      slashscythe
      Status: all
      Jul 22, 2020

      A nice read if it's to chill with good pacing and agreeable logic for a fantasy novel

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      Str1keFreedom00
      Status: chapter 171 – captured
      Jan 30, 2021

      This story is honestly amazing. It goes about the sciencey aspect of the story without trying to make up to much bullsh*t or make it to where you can't understand what the character is saying. With as much as this story is trending I'm surprised there isn't more than 7 reviews (8 counting this one).

      There are a couple of reviews talking about the cringiness of the story and yes there is some cringe, but the MC basically gave up. He wasn't being challenged on Earth. Everything was boring to him.

      The Announcement about giving the ultimate sacrifice for knowledge makes sense if the entire section was read and understood by the reader. He was wondering about things and admitted that he felt bored with life and that nothing was very challenging for him. (Granted the challenge goes away again in later chapters, but his quest for knowledge is still there.)

      Give the story a try before you cast judgement. It's not for everyone for sure, but to me it's a breath of fresh air. It's different from the classic OP MC story.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      Teiderlein
      Status: c1
      May 2, 2021

      How the hell did this sh*t get 4 and a half stars?

      tl;dr: Don't read it, it's bad.

      Spoiler

      The author has no clue about depression, yet still uses it as an inciting incident.

      [collapse]
      There is no character development whatsoever and it reads more like a bad wish-fulfilment story. And my long review is quite salty and angry. But it is not meant for the author to stop writing and I merely hope that they evolve their craft and do some damn research.
      Spoiler

      Let's start with the prologue: It starts with the author trying (and failing) to pass off misconceptions and surface-level understanding of the bible, and Christianity in general, as some great revelation about some universal truth, pushing the MC into depression.

      Then the MC goes through some (admittedly bad) stuff, which leads to him committing suicide, which somehow gets branded as "sacrifice for the pursuit of knowledge." This reveals that the author has no experience with depression or suicide and is at best negligent, bad and insulting, and at worst dangerous. At this point I was 1.: already sick of the story 2.: deeply offended. This was because I have been in psychological counselling for a few years now to get a grip on my depression while an acquaintance of mine has already tried to commit suicide three times and my best friend is currently on hard medication to control his depression.

      But, I decided to read the next chapter regardless. The next chapter started with the MC getting op skills for no reason, continues with him getting attacked and running away before ending with: Him summoning a f***ing gun out of nowhere,   without any explanation whatsoever, and shooting the wolf that attacked him.

      [collapse]

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      Countrydead17
      Status: chapter 124 – meeting
      Nov 30, 2020

      I have enjoyed this story from the beginning! It is very relaxed and fun to read. The story defiantly got better the further I sent into it, and now I can't wait for more chapters the be released!

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      X
      Write a Review
      You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Follow Tip
      Similar Series
      “Idol” Is The Strongest Job In This World! – Reincarnated as an Idol
      By Quertzy
      Our protagonist is a high school girl loner otaku. “I really love idols! They shine so brightly when they perform!” After attending her favourite group’s concert, she decided to go back home. However, just as sh
      A Budding Scientist in a Fantasy World
      By acaswell
      Alice is a girl who loves science and lives on Earth. Then, suddenly, she was punted into another dimension. A dimension where magic and monsters roam the land, and, for some reason, a System keeps dinging at her and telling her that her stats and
      So I’m Twins?
      By AniOtaku
      Alternate title: So I’m Twins? I myself as another → Start of a new life. Starting From Zero to which people anticipated, how the lost soul would survive in the new world? I welcome you to a story, in which our main character struggle
      Tian
      By MelasD
      A Cultivator’s quest for immortal ascension is thwarted and she finds herself in another world with Levels, Classes, magic, monsters, and… laser swords and laser guns? Where exactly am I? Just a forewarning, this book, once fin
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.