Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / He Who Fights With Monsters
He Who Fights With Monsters
He Who Fights With Monsters
228.7k Views 5225 Favorites 124 Chapters 6 Chapters/Week 823 Readers
4.9 (158 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

Jason wakes up in a mysterious world of magic and monsters. He’ll face off against cannibals, cultists, wizards, monsters, and that’s just the first day. He’s going to need courage, he’s going to need wit and he’s going to need some magic powers of his own. But first, he’s going to need pants.

Follow Jason as he makes a place for himself in a world that is strange, yet sometimes strangely familiar. He’ll meet crime lords and aristocrats, gods and monsters on his path from would-be victim to heroic adventurer. At least, he tries to be heroic. It’s hard to be a good man when all your powers are evil.

Release schedule is 5 chapters per week, Monday-Friday.

Please note: I am Australian and this story is written in Australian English, so there will be less of the letter Z and more of the letter U.

This web novel is also available at royalroad.com

Genre
ActionAdventureFantasyIsekai
Tags
Charismatic Protagonist Comedic Undertone Cunning Protagonist Game Elements Gods Guilds Interdimensional Travel Male Protagonist Monsters Transported into Another World Weak to Strong
Show
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 100% (10)
    • 4 stars 0% (0)
    • 3 stars 0% (0)
    • 2 stars 0% (0)
    • 1 stars 0% (0)
    Reset Filters
      Torauth
      Status: c90
      Jul 30, 2019

      Loving this so far. The protagonist seems both likable and realistic, and although it's very early, the premise thus far is incredibly interesting. 

      The detailed explanations of the system give the sense that this is well thought out, and the world and other characters seem fleshed out, vibrant and 3 dimensional. 

      Gary is the best! 

      Read More

      5 Likes · Like Permalink
      Scandalion
      Status: chapter 67
      Sep 24, 2019

      I was at first sceptical when starting HWFWM, any yet Shirtaloon sucked me in all the same. The author has used the isekai, LitRGP tropes effectively and has distinguished the story as its own entity unbeholden to such tropes alone. Shirtaloon has crafted his own world, system and brilliant characters that keep me wanting more and more. That is another thing, with the rate of chapter releases his readers become enthralled with the writing and dedication of the author. I cannot recall a single chapter being wasted or disappointing, and so in this way Shirtaloon has done near everything right to deserve 5 stars from me so far. 

      The style is easy to read, the story possesses character depth, and the prose conveys emotion very well. This story is far from the usual quality of writing I have found from Web serials; give it a read!

      Read More

      4 Likes · Like Permalink
      Piwington
      Status: chapter 21: i have the power
      Aug 9, 2019

      MC is likeable and the characters have all been realistic. Story overall is very enjoyable to read and I am looking forward to more.

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      ZaTrox
      Status: c16
      Jul 29, 2019

      lol, looking forward to Australian English translation, I just hope the text won't be upside down.

      UPDATE: So it's been 16 chapters since I posted my comment, so here comes the very basic review, the story looks very interesting, the MC is likeable, I especially like the fact that 

      Spoiler

      he actually told his companions  (as of chapter 16) that he is from another world,

      [collapse]
      which is not something that happens often in any story that is about travelling to a different world. Other than that, I have nothing more to say, there isn't enough chapters to say anything else, I'll give 4/5 just because there isn't enough chaters.

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      popocake
      Status: chapter 100: legwork
      Nov 14, 2019

      I very much like this novel and highly recommend it.

      > The writing is mature and relaxed, which comes in handy to reflect the way the MC and most of the cast talk and act, but it's not casual to the point of veering into poor grammar or childish mistakes. The author's very aware his own style and there's even some meta commentary on regional mannerisms and stuff like that.

      > MC is very well-developed and even has some complexities to his character, which is rare on webnovels. Some of the things he says might seem like teenage ramblings sometimes, but the author seems to acknowledge that fact, promptly chastising his own MC or making it so he reflects on those ramblings later on. He very much looks like a real person in this regard, with some contradictions and many flaws, but with much more humanity when compared to most webnovels' MCs. It's almost endearing seeing him struggling to adapt to his new reality and at the same time trying to record everything so that he can show how this life to his estranged family back on Earth. Very nice.

      > Supporting cast are also well-developed, albeit not as much as the MC (which is all in all completely understandable). The cast is not huge so far, but there are lots of flavorful characters, each with its own unique composition. And fortunetely, the author's consistent enough that you can remind who's who by simple details like how he talks, what he dislikes or how he interacts with other characters, even when said character's been absent for a dozen chapters or so. It's also nice that there are few moronic characters, and there isn't anyone so far whose existence is dependant only on his relationship with the MC.

      > Worldbuilding is being done slowly, but surely. I like the way things are developing and it's very clear that the author has everything planned out in regard to the big picture. The world seems alive, with lots of things happening very much regardless of what the MC or main cast think or does and there are lots of little details that are interesting and very welcome. Although the story's very focused on the MC and main cast and the city where they're currently living, here and there you get this notion that they're only very very very small characters in a vast world they have absolutely no way to influence. At least for now, that is.

      > Lastly, the supernatural system the author came up with is fascinating and truly a masterwork on his part. So far it's very thoroughly explained, with clear rules and boundaries, but remains extremely flexible and adaptable, perfect for some GM fiats and things like that. I'm impressed.

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      Henrik
      Status: c116
      Dec 2, 2019

      This novel has almost exclusively 5* reviews, a large wordcound and frequent updates. It's great, read it.

      I will try to write this to give an Idea of what to expect. The most important thing to me is warning about things you might not like, so keep in mind that I loved every second of the three days it took me too catch up so this is a 'this might be things some people don't like' but even if every one of the following points is a miss for you this is Still a good read.

      It's an isekai with a game system/Chinese style cultivation system (don't worry its subtle, no sects and meditating for days it's just the best way to describe the system).

      Beware, quirky character as in Australian, must be weird down tgere^^ this is the only deal warning he might get on your nerves, try it first and if it's a close call assume it gets better:)

      There is as of yet no harem even remotely in sight. The main character is strong and good in a fight but far from overpowered especially against higher cultivation ranks.

      In the beginning he does stupid stuff but please give it some time he will still do stupid things but he does notice it and learn from it.

      After some time social games and manipulation become an important thing, but the mc's quirky character makes this very enjoyable for me so I would advise if you like manipulation, read it for sure, if not I would still give it a try.

      Same thing goes for philosophy, it will happen and play a role in the story so make of that what you want but do give it a try as I can assure you the author and MC did not yet try to change my world view nor did they get too smart-ass about it so even if you don't like it you can read through it to enjoy the rest of the story.

      Tldr: isekai, cultivation, game system, no harem, not op but strong MC, manipulation, great humor, great story, good fights very good grammar and spelling.

      8/8 m8

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      BobTheLost
      Status: c80
      Sep 20, 2019

      Overall, the story is very well written, and worth reading.

      The MC is humorous, relatively hard working, and in general is just a man who is very far from home and dealing with the hand he has been dealt.

      The side characters all have a decent amount interesting aspects to them and, aside from Bert (nothing against any of them, it's fun to see where the next one will show up), aren't really copied repeatedly.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      Shaiyamine
      Status: c59
      Sep 17, 2019

      Well written and enjoyable. The funny portions are funny and the characters are well delivered. Once I started reading I couldnt put it down till the latest chapter!

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      tbphelps
      Status: chapter 38: just another adventurer
      Aug 27, 2019

      Interesting, well written, fun so far. Looking forward to seeing how the story progresses.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      Neveck
      Status: chapter 106: something shady
      Nov 18, 2019

      This is a great story with lots of updates, and not a totally overpowered main character

      Read More

      0 Likes · Like Permalink
      X
      Write a Review
      You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Follow Tip
      Similar Series
      Relevance And A World Flying Off The Tracks
      By AweksLear
      Trapped in a world not my own. Facing a destiny never meant to pass. Dealing with a hero doomed to defeat. Which will end first, this world or my life? The Transmigator, a being deployed from beyond the boundaries of this reality, must undo
      Arclight Online
      By Wintertime
      Once a revered professional gamer, Aaron lives a secluded but modest lifestyle; playing video games and occasionally working on computer programming in his off-time. With the breakthrough in Virtual Reality Gaming in 2074, there is a rumor percola
      Re: Sword Emperor
      By Yorth
      In the largest virtual reality game in history, Mark was a king. His team? Unstoppable. They were heroes even among other pros. But the game changed. The government—for their own political gains—made a mess of everything Team Black Moon wor
      I’m an Idiot in Another World
      By HURGMCGURG
      I’m going on a magical adventure to kill the demon king because purgatory is boring, angels are jerks, and I don’t want to spend eternity eating only cookies. So if I’m gonna do this, I’m gonna do this my way. A
      Out of boundaries
      By Yoeai
      The story follows the adventures and happening events of Satoru in a different world. Satoru always desired to lead a live in another world or have a super power. When it actually happend he was very excited but he also had to do a certain task, t
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.