Menu
Read
Series Ranking
Series Finder
Latest Series
Genre
Create
Forum
Scribble HubCreateForum
/ Series / Second Life as the Sister of a Goddess
Second Life as the Sister of a Goddess
Second Life as the Sister of a Goddess
311.9k Views 3708 Favorites 99 Chapters 1 Chapters/Week 1459 Readers
4.4 (151 ratings)
Read Add to Library
Synopsis

He had lived a good life. A man who traveled the world, saw the cultures, learned the languages. For a period, he had even discovered a historical preservation of a martial art practiced by the Samuri and Ninja in Japan that caught his interest. He learned it until he had attained a level of mastery worthy to instruct those back in his home in the United States.

Before he settled down to become a teacher, he first became a nurse. It was too late to go through the intense schooling to become a doctor, but he had been inspired by the Indian and Chinese traditions of the strong link between the ways of healing and the ways of body mastery that are the core of the martial arts.

He settled down and had his family, opened his school, and taught several students. It was a good life, his 60 years. But then, when he had finished the children’s class one day in which his own grandaughter was a student, he decided to take her for icecream. That was when it all went wrong.

He was fine after the accident. His grandaughter… was not. In that moment, someone claiming to be a fallen goddess promised him the ability to take the consequences of his mistake entirely onto himself. He would die, his grandaughter would live on in perfect health. In this moment of weakness, he could not possibly refuse.

The last thing he knew in his life was that his precious granddaughter had been saved. The first thing he knew in his next life was that he was in the womb, and he was a twin. A twin he would later discover was the very goddess who helped him to save his granddaughter.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am also posting this to RoyalRoads and Webnovel in order to broaden audience exposure.

Genre
ActionAdventureFantasyGender BenderIsekaiMartial ArtsMatureSeinenSupernatural
Tags
Age Progression Calm Protagonist Cautious Protagonist Character Growth Child Protagonist Clever Protagonist Confident Protagonist Cute Protagonist Dragons Fantasy Creatures Fantasy World Female Protagonist Female to Male Male to Female Medical Knowledge Modern Knowledge Multiple POV Multiple Protagonists Multiple Reincarnated Individuals Non-human Protagonist Previous Life Talent R-15 Race Change Reincarnated into Another World Sword And Magic
Show
    Table of Contents
    Write a Review
    • 5 stars 64% (7)
    • 4 stars 9% (1)
    • 3 stars 0% (0)
    • 2 stars 27% (3)
    • 1 stars 0% (0)
    Reset Filters
      Eukro
      Status: too much
      May 15, 2019

      I found this story incredibly hard to read. The pacing is incredibly slow to the point that I found it boring. I love the concept behind the story though, I really wanted to like it, but several factors made it uncomfortable to read for me. The first was the pointlessly long descriptions of unimportant events. The second was the double spacing between paragraphs. The third was the excessive commentary offered by the author to justify the horribly slow pacing and pointless descriptions of unimportant backstory elements.

      I don't want to be entirely cruel here, even though I only gave 2 stars for the review. The story idea is fantastic and with a few adjustments to the pacing and editing for format the story could be really good.

      Read More

      13 Likes · Like Permalink
      novaes
      Status: chapter 35: no longer together
      Jun 28, 2019
      This novel is like watching a cat take three hours to decide to go outside, meowing about the place to make sure you super srs 4 sure know it wants to go outside, but it never quite gets out the door. Then when it finally does go outside, it rushes back inside to meow at you again. It's a cute cat and you want to love it but by god, just go outside already!
       
      Interesting setting, but it's too slow and boring for my taste as it feels like I'm reading a teenager's essay more than half the time. Terrible pacing, suffers immensely from 'show don't tell' syndrome, with info-dumps constantly interfering with pacing, usually using exposition in the form of someone asking a question then getting an answer (and it never stops happening). Then you have rather pointless facts like what bacteria makes someone's vomit smell a certain way as the author goes into superfluous detail about trivial things that don't even need explaining, or things so far removed from the plot they don't need mentioning. I get it, you really thought hard about the story and shored up plot holes, but you don't need to preemptively justify everything, just let it flow.
       
      As for the goddess herself, she hardly appears to even be a character, and more like a crawling encyclopedia who is only there to tell the MC things. So the story is less like sister of the goddess and more like "I reincarnated as an elf girl with an all knowing goddess by my side"

      Read More

      10 Likes · Like Permalink
      Vicarious_Writer
      Status: Beautiful
      Aug 18, 2019

      Have you ever watched paint dry? Well, me neither until I read this story. You get to watch the paint dry at a speed of 0.25x in all its glory. You get to see paint hardening and slowly getting its structure. Then once it's done and you can finally make out what it is, you see its exactly that. It's a beautiful painting of you making out for the first time. Those precious feelings you felt all return to you when reading this novel. The novel starts off slow but once revealed it's a masterpiece. 

      If you are not in a rush and can handle assiduous strokes of world-building and character development. I guarantee you will love this!

      I wish I could write this well.

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      EpicYarnBoy
      Status: chapter 40: from nymph to dryad
      Jun 9, 2019

      I like it a lot, there's a lot of description which is good, but some people would be put off by the slow age pacing, but personally, I find it better, the thing I hate most in stories is constant big time skips

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      Megamink
      Status: chapter 33: organizing
      May 28, 2019

      I love this story.  This is a brilliant story that brings a twist to the whole isekai genre and has some pretty interesting and fleshed out characters.  I can't wait to see what happens next.

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      Fufufu
      Status: chapter 33: organizing
      May 22, 2019

      I like it very much! It is carefully planned and deliberate! Few if any grammar mistakes! Interesting and large world! The caracters are likeable! The MC is very kind! Come and read it! Worth it!

      Im not really used to write a review and im a beginner at english so sorry for my mistakes! But I had to write one now to show my appreciation and my thanks for the author!

      By Fufufu

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      isumii
      Status: chapter 24
      Apr 29, 2019

      •The author does a good job of balancing the slow pace with interesting descriptions. Although normally I dislike switching perspectives from the MC, it's written in a way where you can see the purpose and shows why a character is acting a certain way. 

      With the MC having split but intertwining personalities, they "interact" in a way that is different from other reincarnation novels. The readers can actually see the process of these two personalities merging and it clears the way to show the character development. 

      Along with that, the effort of researching is shown by the different knowledge on topics like myths. This isn't included in a boring way however and can actually be understood.

      Besides the occasional misspellings, this novel is really good if you are tired of repeating plot lines. One thing I would say is that if you pick this up as your first reincarnation novel, some of the comments or "cliches" that are avoided might be confusing. 

      Read More

      3 Likes · Like Permalink
      maheusz
      Status: chapter 24: baby steps
      Apr 27, 2019

      Slow, but interesting, with a lot of world-building. At 24th chapter it still reads pretty well, with no crazy developments. I guess these should come later?

      Also

      Spoiler

      somehow I can't shake the feeling that the goddess is going to somehow f*** up the main character, just like it was done in Death Mage.

      [collapse]

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      xRoymustang
      Status: c24
      Apr 24, 2019

      This story is great so far, and using death mage as inspiration is cool to that is one my favorites.

      Read More

      2 Likes · Like Permalink
      Absoloot
      Status: c0
      Mar 16, 2019
      Story has been properly proofread now and the synopsis cleaned up. Sorry progress is glacial but it's an interesting world and fun characters. Again though, slow. MC is 6 months old after 50 chapters. Worth picking up if you like world building and exposition.

      Read More

      1 Likes · Like Permalink
      X
      Write a Review
      You must be logged in to rate and post a review. Register an account to get started.
      Follow Tip
      Similar Series
      The Magic Lumberjack
      By Hathnuz
      Kane, who once a mighty ax saint and master blacksmith—fell from his glory after completing his vengeance. He fled to a faraway kingdom but was killed by an invading demon in an unfortunate event. For an unknown reason, his journey somehow
      Maou Shoujo Magical Chaos
      By Meakashi
      Death and Reincarnation. Kuroe Makoto, the tomboyish ace of her high school track and field club, never spared a thought for these things before. However, when she falls asleep in her Tokyo home after an exhausting marathon and wakes up in
      Enlightened Empire
      By SociableHermit
      A prince sent into exile, without the means to fight back. A young man trapped in an unfair world, without the status to bring about change. Combined, they will have both means and status. Armed with advanced knowledge from a
      The Time Mage
      By ABPhoenix
      Kason Vale has lived in Selmore village all his life. Brought up in the shadows of the Blackwood, he has never seen much magic and is woefully lacking in knowledge of life outside the village. But that all changes when he begins his journey to Con
      Life Of The Vampire Girl
      By TrollingTrolls
      Erin was a boy, who loved playing fantasy games. One day, he saw a new fantasy game, so he chose to check it out. He created his character, a female vampire. And then everything went wrong. ********************************
      Action Required
      You must be logged in to perform this action.